Dead

We're staying overnight in Kaikoura (shown in map) , where they had a terrible earthquake last year - - had a really good trip up, with clearing skies as we drove north.  We are very fortunate, as State Highway 1 was only opened last Thursday and only open for two weeks.  The roads are in a terrible state, many areas one way and controlled by traffic lights.  Road works everywhere, clearing slips, wonky railway lines, mangled guard rails etc,  but lots has been done, but so much more to be done too.

These dead trees are very dramatic so have gone with this for my blip,  there used to be a line of them, but this is all that left - they have been there for years and years.  I have put two others in extra - a heron that I stalked and the mountains behind Kaikoura.  

Tomorrow we are off at 6 am, as have to travel south again, to get onto the inland route to get to Picton and catch the ferry over to Wellington.

I was ever so happy to get my Scotland Blurb book delivered this morning - it took 3 weeks, which is the longest I have ever had to wait.  But the wait was worth it - I am so excited and thrilled with it.

Rainie

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.