TINY TUESDAY

Not quite the shot I had in mind for Tiny Tuesday but there are lots of tiny plants in this shot, taken from our landing window, after a disaster in the garden.

We heard several loud bangs as we sat indoors last night, but it was windy and rainy and Mr. HCB thought it was probably some of his seed trays blowing around.  However, when I came down, quite early for me, this morning, he was fully dressed, so I wondered what had happened.  I knew he wouldn’t have been out gardening because the rain was still hammering down and it was blowing a gale, but his face told me there was something not quite right.

Apparently, he had looked out from the landing window when he had got up at about 6.30 and had seen the small, plastic greenhouse he had for his birthday in April, on its side, having been lifted completely off the base - so he came back upstairs, got dressed quickly and went out there.  The greenhouse had blown onto all his young and tender plants that were outside the greenhouse hardening off (hence the sad look on his face) and he told me it was now unusable - you can see where it was by the growbag, now sitting in splendid isolation - that must have been some gust!

I hope that Mr. HCB will be able to salvage some of his plants, all grown from seed, and I have no doubt that once the rain stops, he will be out there.  Many of our other plants in the border have been battered by the wind too and although some of the poppy petals still remain, many of them are blowing about the garden.  It is so cold and miserable today - it seems to be the same all over the country and this is summer?  Ah well, good job I didn’t pack away my winter clothes! 

“The wind is scary.. 
     during a tornado 
          or in life in general.. 
you never know 
     when a gust is going to come in your direction 
          and change everything” 
David Walsh

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.