RSD Photo's SoCal Life

By rsdphotography

Milestone

The message came to my inbox on Saturday: “You’re about to reach a new milestone.” After publishing that afternoon, I was three days away from #2,500! Apprehension quickly set it. It is not that I have a ton of followers (141 at last check) or get a lot of views (rarely more than 50 per image), but blip has become an important part of my daily existence which meant I wanted to put a good foot forward when reaching a new milestone. 

What to photograph became the question. I enlisted the help of my wife. She told me to shoot what I liked best. Judging from my image tags, that would be a market photo (133 entries, though my Lightroom records show 195 with that tag) or volleyball (104/108). I did, however, want something befitting a “milestone”, something grand, something memorable. Market photos are interesting, but not dramatic. Photo-worthy volleyball is hard to come by this time of year, most of those images come when I’m on South of the Border Trips (third most popular tag at 74/106). I was struggling to come up with a subject.

The big day arrived, and without an idea of what to shoot I took my camera everywhere, shot everything hoping for magic to strike. I took photos at the market, kind of ordinary. I concentrated on patterns and details (66/180 entries), not grand enough. I shot from Playa La Ropa (68/180 entires), boring light. I thought I was going to have to settle for an everyday kind of image and makeup for it with eloquent text. The day was saved with this sunset image of our lovely bay. It may not say Mexico without palm trees, but to me it does say home.


Blip has become a home of sorts as well. From the many online interactions to a few actual in person ones, its people have been unwaveringly warm and friendly. It has proven an ideal place to share and learn, as well as gain understanding of other countries and cultures. I am honored to be a part of this community and hope to be for many milestones more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.