RSD Photo's SoCal Life

By rsdphotography

Bike Delivery #8

Ever since arriving here I have been fascinated by these market delivery bikes (to the point of serializing them) and knew I wanted to post one in support of the Blip Community Challenge: transportation means. I recently heard a National Geographic photographer, Sam Abell, talk about the importance of backgrounds. He suggested composing a photo with a suitable background and then waiting for the foreground elements to come together. He showed countless examples extolling this technique, showcasing the benefits of waiting, sometimes as long as 45 minutes, for the action to coalesce into the photo he envisioned. I liked the light in this scene and was happy not to have any intruding vehicles, so I waited for the action to develop. I turned out to be nowhere near as patient as a National Geographic photographer, not terribly surprising, but managed to hold on long enough for a couple of bikes to pass by - resulting in this pleasing image.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.