Truly Blippin' Marvelous

By JohnEdward

Pick-up-sticks

       I was hoping to report a mission accomplished tale to accompany these blips but it was not to be.  When Bob, Jim, and I hiked up to Escudilla fire lookout two weeks ago it wasn't until I got home that I realized I'd lost my 'phone. It must have dropped out of my camera bag without my noticing somewhere in this mess of downed snags from the Wallow fire.

      David joined us on today's hike. A beautiful day for a hike up to 10,000'+.  The trail crews had done a good job of clearing the lower slopes (extra) but the last leg up to the burned out tower was still a challenge. The eventual fate of the tower is unknown. You can glimpse it on the extreme left of the horizon in the extra. Everything except the metal structure was destroyed in the fire which swept up the steep south slope.  Reno Tower, just four miles from where the fire started in Bear Wallow wilderness, survived and has been in use.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.