Penguin Droppings

By gen2

Ashes to Ashes - Dust to Dust

The Scattering.


This image arose out of a totally chance encounter.

This afternoon I popped down to Kinghorn beach in front of Kinghorn Parish Church.
The strong wind from the west occasionally brought reedy vibrations to my ear. I deduced a piper was playing somewhere in the distance and then spotted a group of people gathered across the bay. The tunes included 'The Dark Island', 'Flower of Scotland' and other cheerful familiar tunes and so I assumed it to be a wedding.
I casually turned my camera in their direction, set it to maximum zoom and snapped a couple of frames.
I later went round the bay to where this party had been and was surprised to see little memorials stuck in the ground, so a funeral, not a wedding! I was even more staggered when I later saw this image on the computer and realised that I had caught the actual moment that the ashes were scattered!

I therefore dedicate this blip to the memory of the Murray family of Kinghorn who will forever remember their mother, grandmother or great-grandmother whenever they return to this viewpoint.


R.I.P.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.