Penguin Droppings

By gen2

Dashing Young Bird

Juvenile Oystercatcher Haematopus ostralegus

I went back down to Kinghorn beach today and noticed the lifeboat was out. I don't know if it was an exercise or for real but it came back while I was there and nearly made today's blip but I thought a Talus MB 764 County tractor unit would have limited appeal. The lifeboat reverses into a cage-like contraption and the sea-going tractor unit pulls it out of the water.

Another possibility was a Vulcan bomber returning from Leuchars Airshow that unexpectedly flew pat over the Forth but it wasn't really sharp enough.

In that case, it has to be one of the birds on the beach - No, not one of the two dead cormorants I found but a very much alive young oystercatcher. Young oystercatchers do not have the red eye that is so characteristic of the adults.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.