CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

After another downpour, the sky clears

It has been wet, windy and wet again for twenty-four hours. In the middle of the afternoon after a lull, a particularly dark sky produced a torrential downpour with horizontal rain. As it passed over heading eastwards up the valley, the sun shone onto our garden and I thought that there must be a rainbow somewhere out there. 

I grabbed my camera and went outside and looked to no avail. But the sky was so dramatic that I thought I'd record it for the record. Then as the blue sky was revealed  above the clouds their massive size and height became apparent.

It reminds me a little of a flight I took in 1983 from Bangkok to Rangoon, the capital of Burma, as they were then called. It turned out that we flew up under the clear blue sky above Thailand and then straight into the start of the monsoon clouds which hit Burma just after we landed an hour later. The country was transformed from an arid tropical landscape into a flooded one where roads and railway lines were washed away within hours. I've always been transfixed by massive clouds ever since then. Today's quite varied clouds shown here were quite piddly in comparison, but beautiful nevertheless.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.