CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Just fledged baby tits being fed outside my office

I woke early this morning and decided to get up. It was 6-15am and I went to feed Bomble and make a cup of tea. I noticed some bird activity in the tree at the rear of the house just outside our bedroom. A little later I took my camera to my office and waited to see if the birds returned. 

I had realised that the tits I'd seen earlier were a parent and its quite young offspring which it seemed to be teaching how to feed itself. They had been exploring the pussy willow tree which throughout the year is a tempting source of insect life on its branches and buds, and now on its leaves. While waiting for my tea to brew I went outside and filled up the bird feeder that hangs from the rhus tree with sunflower seeds.

It wasn't long before a few tits brought seeds back from the feeder to the branches of the tree outside my office, where they always perch to digest them. I couldn't seem to get a clear shot of them as they were staying deep inside the leaf cover.

After a short while, I saw this young tit and managed to focus on it just as its parent was pushing a seed into its mouth. I was delighted, and even more surprised when looking at the resulting image on my computer to see there was a second offspring there beside it. I always so grateful to be able to have such scenes so close to our daily lives.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.