Pretty in Pink!

I hadn't intended to go to the allotment today as I had got what I presumed to be bites that were rather painful in the night. Inspecting them in the morning to make sure they were not tics, as the whole of the lower right side of my  back had hurt, I ascertained they were not. Suddenly the thought "Shingles" popped into my mind. Surely they could not be staging a recurrence? This would be the third time! Fingers crossed it's just a reaction to some biting insect.
Anyway - I had to go to the allotment as colourful Mai messaged me to say the cover on the coop had blown off and she had felt too ill to replace it.She offered to meet me there but really it's a job one person can do and she must have been feeling really bad if it was beyond her. So I waited until the showers had long pauses between them and headed up there.
There were 3 other hardy people there! One being my Fellow Allotmentor who as usual  I had a good natter with. Not only did he give me spinach thins he had two expressions that tickled me - "cold wind on his brassicas" and his impending run to the Coop to get gin for "the broads in Norfolk!" It is a place in England known as the Norfolk Broads!
I actually spent quite a while on the plot. Not knowing when the showers may have turned into just rain, I just happily pottered around pulling weeds, putting in stakes for the foxgloves that had taken a bashing from the wind, and picking the first strawberries.I also took lots of photographs and this is my favourite.   It's  Eschscholzia californica, 'Carmine King' - supposed to be an annual it's actually overwintered from last year! I just love it's vibrancy. 
Once home I must admit after eating a late lunch /early dinner, I slept on the kitchen sofa for hours. I have been slipping back into that habit the last few days and am hoping it's just due to my physical exercise on the allotment - not Shingles! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.