Smile!

Pleased to report I think it was bites as no pain today! I wasn't sure whatIi would do on the allotment today after opening the coop. I wasn't even sure I would do anything! However I found myself digging another bed that I have covered! It started as just a tidy up of grass and weeds I had thrown onto the area, then I moved the cardboard and wool I had covered the area with, just to cover patches where green was pushing through. Then suddenly the fork was in my hand and I was at it again! 
This bed was much easier than the other two I had already dug for the squash and potatoes on this long neglected plot. It's a large square that I have dug many times before and grown sweetpeas, peas and flowers in. There were only stones at the edge which I had used as corner markers and no grass roots nor raspberries! There were some dandelions but even they came out easily - long tapering roots just sliding out when pulled - sheer pleasure!  I think all the rain we have been having helped! I think two more sessions and it will be ready for some seed sowing - shame we sill have a lot of rain forecast!
I had a knock on my door the previous evening and debated answering it - I'm pleased I did as it was a villager active in the Labour party Calstock group asking if I would like to put a labour placard in my front garden. I of course said yes and when I returned from the allotment today there it was! I think my dad would have approved, he was always a Labour man. On Friday I am hosting an Election Breakfast at my house - we may already know which way it has gone by the time everyone is here. I have no idea which way it will go - nothing has gone as expected in elections recently - we may drink tea and coffee with our breakfast, or we may pop a bottle or two of fizz in celebration! Everything crossed till then. 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.