Labyrinth

A quiet day after all my activity yesterday! My wrist was aching after the pulling up of grass yesterday! I did manage to get out to the Co-Op for cat food and olive oil - just when you think you have all your supplies you discover some basics are missing from your cupboard!
My back garden is looking and smelling delightful at the moment - the main scent is the delicious honeysuckle which is growing up the back wall in my lane and spilling it's flowers over the top of my fence! I remember as a child  pulling the stamens out and sucking on them to taste the sweet nectar! 
I do believe this is being the best year for flowers - 4 peony buds - they usually dry off as tiny buds and I'm lucky to get even one! I loved this shot of the first bloom to flower with the ant making it's way through the labyrinth of petals! Up on the allotment the blackberries that lead to and  surrounds the plot are a sea of blooms. I do so hope this all means a good  yield of fruit and veg from my plot! My fruit bushes - gooseberry, blueberry, red and black currants are positively laden with fruit ripening! Shame the rhubarb has gone over! 
The day didn't end  peacefully unfortunately. The boot of my car has refused to open for weeks - but I lack the stamina to take it into Plymouth to be fixed! I try opening it every now and then as before it's latest shutdown it would sometimes open. Well this evening it opened! I was about to go  inside to grab some WD40 when my neighbour arrived home. I invited her in to see the photos of Frankie then gave her a tour of the house! With WD40 in hand back to the car - which I had forgotten I had left the boot wide open!  To my horror as I wiggled the parts of the lock to make sure the oil penetrated  everywhere, the top part moved up and the bottom part across - yes you guessed it - the boot now locked in an open position! Well I wriggled it, prised at it with a screwdriver and in desperation hit all parts with a hammer! Nothing worked! Dusk was falling so off to the hens with the boot lid periodically bouncing and banging as I went! I tried once more at the plot to release the lock, and again when home - then emptied the car of all things valuable to me and had to leave it! It looks shut so I'm hoping no-one notices it isn't! I will try the local garage tomorrow in the hope they can fix it, otherwise Plymouth it will have to be! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.