63 Years!

Mom and Dad have been married for 63 years today!  What an amazing achievement!  

I find it difficult to comprehend sometimes that they have loved each other enough to stay together for so long.  Does that sound silly?  I suppose I have never witnessed any really loving behaviour between them.  We are not a very demonstrative family really.  The years together are the evidence of the abiding love, I suppose.  It's only really now that I have become the one who sorts things out, that so many of the family seem to rely on, that I get some insight into the emotions that control the relationships as I am around at so many more of those significant moments for family members.

Often, I don't want to be.  Often, I want to be somewhere else.  Often, I have to put my own wishes and needs to one side.

I know that I am the one who can restore a sort of equilibrium, a sort of less chaotic existence, a sort of semblance of normality.  But God knows how much that costs.  Emotionally.  Physically.  Spiritually.  

I knew that it would get like this.  You start on a journey and you don't know where it is going to end, but you have to go on it.  

63 years ago today, these two people started on their journey together, and I look back over what they have achieved.  Two daughters, two grandsons, a house, and lots of happy memories.  Stresses, deaths, illnesses have intruded, but love has kept them going.  I know where the journey will end ultimately.  I have no idea how we are going to get there.  I have no idea when we will get there.  But get there we will.

Meanwhile, I have tried to make today a good day.  Bits have been successful.  Bits have been disastrous. That is the journey we are on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.