Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

How I get around

Last day for the challenge today and to be honest, I had completely forgotten about it; I've been so preoccupied with other things.

This is not a particularly great or inspirational picture, but when we approached the Volvo to use it, this cat was sitting on it as if it owned it! G managed to whip the camera out quickly and get a shot. This 25 year old classic is just one of my means of transport. At the moment it is the evening car for two reasons... 1. The a/c doesn't work well enough to use it in the searing heat of the day (41degC)  2. We are more likely to find a free spot in the resident's allocated parking when we get home late.

I'd love to show our public transport (Metro, buses, water taxis) but unfortunately, I avoid getting on them as much as I can.

Today has been a great day. Dropped G off at school and sat it out at The Mall waiting to pick her up. I took my laptop so have made some progress in sorting out car hire for the summer.  Picked G and raced over to Satwa to pick up a friend who very kindly offered to accompany us to the Economic Department to try and get our project moving again.

So glad we did this as we met a really switched on person who explained things clearly and said we should be ok with what we have, but best to return tomorrow to speak to one of the top guys to get a verbal confirmation from him, so we will do that.

Went to the Salvation Army service in the evening (see extra). I do love the building they meet in (Norwegian Seaman's Mission). G & I were asked if we'd do a couple of songs, so we did! It was good we'd practiced extra when we were preparing for last Friday. :)

GK over and out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.