Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Anniversary

This is not quite the flame tree picture I wanted to post, but it's the best one I could get for the moment... the one outside the living room window gains flowers everyday. The afternoon light on it is spectacular. Trying to capture it is another thing!

My sisters and I quietly marked the 23rd anniversary of my mum's passing today. I wasn't in Dubai when she died, and had to fly back, and for some reason, the flame trees suddenly came to my attention that year. I'd never noticed them before; yet they would have flowered every year, or *maybe*, they had been recently planted as they are not indigenous to this area. Hence my blip.

Dropped G off at work and did some stuff at home before picking her up again. We headed straight over to the Economic Department located in Dubai Mall to try and get some clarity on the activity on the Trade Licence. We didn't get very far, except to be told to visit another branch on the other side of town and ask them because they may have a better idea.

We got home via the garage (I suddenly realised G's car was well overdue for an oil change) and the hypermarket.

And I have finally caught up with all my blips for the last few days!

Forgot to mention yesterday; the new laptop I got in December has got a faulty track pad. It is quite impossible to work with. I've been trying to get in touch with the right people to get it fixed; only to find out that Dell won't honour the warranty because it is a "Canadian" import! Anyway, after visiting two of their authorised service centres, neither of whom would look at it - for the same reason - I was told by one of their older (and much smarter) agents that it is possible to transfer the ownership and warranty from one geographic region to another; and then my laptop will be covered here! Why the guys in Dell didn't tell me themselves is a mystery! Anyway, fingers crossed. I'll know in two weeks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.