Hangingstone Cottongrass

Sometimes it's necessary to say what you think.

I find myself becoming grumpier and less patient these days. I expected to be very grumpy and impatient around this unnecessary election. It reeked, and still reeks, of nothing less than political opportunism. Like many, I imagined it was going to be driven by the same tedious spin, patronising a gullible electorate with vacuous sound bites, and, as expected, that's exactly what the Tories delivered - except that it didn't quite work to plan. 

Most people saw right through the soundbites. The longer the election race has gone on, the more May has exposed her lack of substance, and the more Corbyn has revealed his very great substance. Poor Jeremy doesn't fit the model of a modern leader, but I happen to believe that is a good thing. He's a decent man. The Labour party might be burdened by a load of old baggage and doesn't even have the leader its own politicians wanted, but it got the leader its members wanted, and that says a lot to me. May is an instrument of the system. Corbyn is a man of the people. This election is the most meaningful in many, many years. We actually have a genuine choice in personnel and policy for this country. Is it too much to hope for another shock result? I'm not expecting a miracle, but I live in hope. That's all we can do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.