Sudan-ly

'Can I use Angolan kwanza?' I was asked by a fellow coffee shop patron at Nairobi Airport. I highly doubted it.

Back in Juba on the way to the field and the usual battles of termites attacking thatched roofs, mosquitoes attacking me, malaria tablets attacking the lining of my mouth, internet speed attacking access to our finance system and politicians attacking each other [not limited to South Sudan].

However it's always a relief to reach the compound without major incident. Poni and Sebit were amused that I had to head immediately for a long daytime nap. I emerged more human and could then make more meaningful contributions to life.

It's always pleasant to spend the evening in sultry temperatures, even though sitting tapping away on a laptop drinking a cold ginger ale is highly incongruous to the lives of most ordinary south Sudanese.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.