Não é bom

'It's not good' said Vitoria when I announced today's destination was the airport. She's right: it's been one of my most enjoyable work missions, uncovering useful programme information to help us move ahead and striking up partnerships in a city that is a hundred times more comfortable and free than Juba.

I have seen albinos here at a higher rate than in other parts of Africa, which I remarked to Vitoria. 'Tem muitos albinos aqui.'

'It's genetic', she said. 'É genético.' She added that Nampula Province in the north is known for a high number of albinos.

Early morning in Maputo. This is a particularly quiet stretch in a non-descript part of town, but reinforces the fact that a Maputo rush hour is not on the same scale as one in Nairobi. Another reason why being in this city appeals. Just out of shot I like the ironing board seller who erects a row of them each morning on this street; homemade wooden legs and brightly coloured upholstered tops. This week he may have had a rush on as only one appeared today.

On the plane to Addis Ababa some passengers were fasting. International travel across timezones during Ramadan must be a risky business because you could find yourself trapped in daylight hours, or even after night has fallen, the food trolley could have passed long ago when the sun was burning bright. In the case of the Ethiopian Airlines stewards, they were astute enough to shimmy down with trays of samosas for the fasters as soon as the sun had dipped below the horizon. I feel sorry for Icelandic Muslims fasting in June. When I went in June 2016, I don't think it got dark.

The interactive topographical map of Ethiopia is alluring as the country is nestled in the mountains; much more so than any that surround it. Although I found it tough going when I visited Addis Ababa, I want to go to Dire Dawa because it sounds lyrical, and Harar because they have urban hyenas that roam the streets at night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.