Remembrance

Went and voted before work this morning, then caught the train from Kidbrooke (which is closer to the polling station).  I managed to get there in a big gap between trains, so had to jump on the next one which came, which meant getting off at London Bridge.  Although I was by then in a bit of a rush to get to work, I found myself pausing for a few minutes with many others to look at all the tributes and messages of love and hope that have been put at the southern end of the bridge.  This lady was just lining up to add her message to the wall.  Then walked across the bridge with rather a large lump in my throat....

Hurried on to work and arrived just in time to go straight back out with my boss for a meeting in Bloomsbury.  We walked there and back, so by the time I finally sat down at my desk I had done a whole lot of walking!

I was saying I wasn't going to stay up for the election results tonight, then saw the exit poll.  Hanging on for the first couple of results at least....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.