Houghton Hall

A wonderful day today with G at Houghton Hall, a house built and furnished in only 13 years (1722 to 1735) by Sir Robert Walpole, the first British Prime Minister. It is extremely ornate and the state rooms are very clearly designed to impress. No wonder he ended up with massive debts!

There is an art exhibition around the house and gardens at the moment by Richard Long - see two photo in Extras. G and I set ourselves a challenge of getting photos from 'an unusual angle', so I took the main photo of the stairs from low down shooting up high. 

There is a wonderful walled garden which includes a very unusual fountain which has both fire and water. I've included a photo of it, but I had my camera on the wrong settings - must go back!!!

It was the general election today and exit polls are saying there'll be a hung parliament - so we might end up with another election. In the words of Brenda from Bristol 'not another one!'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.