Wine,Women & Song

By CelloNerd

Oh, have a cow!

Allow me to introduce my neighbors, the cows.

It was a delightfully warm and beautiful afternoon when I decided to enjoy a walk through my field of clover to pay the cows a visit.

Behind their stoically, impassive expressions, I've found that these large, lumbering ungulates are very curious, sweet, and lovable. This particular herd of approximately 50 cows (and I'm including their young calves) enjoy almost 80 rolling acres of sweet clover, and a clean, dry barn during the winter months.

When my boys were still small boys, a detour through the cow field was the preferred route home from the school bus stop. Now, our young chocolate lab puppy is introducing herself to these magnificent beasts, testing their patience as she weaves in and out among them while they stare down at her, incredulous at her actions.

In deference to my bovine neighbors, tonight's dinner was vegetarian!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.