Think, try, share

By JonBusby

Camera iPad Workflow

This is a vital little piece of kit for me connecting my SD card to my iPad.

I am pretty much focused on creating photo workflows that bypass the desktop and utilise the iPad at the moment. In the past I have had a few issues with this especially when in post process or edit mode because the iPad tended to crash. Also a lot of photo editing apps on the iPad do bits of the process but not as much as I wanted. I found this chopping and changing between apps very clunky, which is not to say they weren't good more that they weren't quite right for me.

I use Aperture on my Macs which is a great piece of kit but at times feels a little like overkill. I also have this ambition to be able to capture a series of shots, connect my SD card and then edit in my armchair on the iPad and then share via either my Tumblr, Flickr, FB or Blip. I then sync the iPad back into Aperture later and do a back up on an external HD. This means I am more mobile and can operate more remotely, say on a train returning from shooting somewhere.

Well that ambition seems to be developing. I am now travelling very light and am not tied to either a desktop or MacBook.

There are two bits of software I use all the time on the iPad that satisfy my needs.

I do post editing in Photogene. It occasionally crashes but less so than most and to be honest I don't know a photo editing iPad app, especially if it is dealing in curves etc, that doesn't. Photogene, like Aperture, is non-destructive. The support is also excellent and they encourage users to help them with the development via forums. The entry level is very rich but if you upgrade to Pro for a few quid more then all sorts of even richer features open up. The Presets for example enable you to do quick refining of pictures. If I had one request it would be for batch processing. A lot of the time I'd like to return from a day out with the family and whilst I am putting a brew and leave 10-20 shots be refined via a Preset batch process.

I can do a basic set of uploads to all of my platforms using Photogene but if I want to do say batch editing, set creation etc in my Flickr then I use FlickrStackr. I really like Flickr and although it has it's critics it has some great features and a nice community share feel. From FlickrStackr I can share in to all of my other platforms and also add to my 500px stream. The downside of FlickrStackr is that the GPS editing is a little fiddly for those of us who are still in love with our old D40's et al.

Update 15 Sept > Photogene have just announced, amongst other things, a batch geo-tagging capability :-)

I had my doubts about the new iPad but the processor seems a lot more robust and it is increasingly being used as my work (the thing that pays for my iPad) involves doing a lot of one to one web demonstrations. It's perfect for when sat in a cafe or at a clients site.

But most of all I am enjoying the experimenting with photo workflows and seeing what works.

If you have any suggests or adds regarding your workflows I'd love to hear them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.