Think, try, share

By JonBusby

Bourne Mill

We put our house on the market on Friday and it was sold the next day. So we are all on our way to Newcastle. I left nearly 20 years ago, frustrated and wanting to explore, a bit angry. I return content with my family.

I will no longer be able to say that I have a National Trust property at the end of my road. This is Bourne Mill. I walk past it most days on my walk with our dog Echo as we wander through the woods around Bourne Pond. It's wonderfully peaceful. Before I gave up smoking I used to stand in all weathers waiting for Echo to stop sniffing around. She is a spaniel so is lead by her nose. She has little or no concept of time. At first this used to frustrate me but in her little way she has slowed me down allowing me to prioritise things in my head.

I'll miss Bourne Mill.

I hope your weekend was good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.