Ground Feeders

Mystery solved: while I was watching the garden birds again today, one of the regularly visiting corvids kindly spoke; it gave a loud "CAW!" This confirms that it is a rook, and the featheriness around the beak suggests it's a juvenile.

Took all these photos through the window on another grey, very windy day. Had a lot of fun creating this collage, again using newly learned collage techniques on Photoshop. Very time consuming, but worthwhile, I think.

Added some ditties about some of the birds that appear here:

Are you raven? Are you crow?
I'm pretty sure, but want to know.
Got the measure of your beak;
All I need's for you to speak...

Thank you, handsome stomping bird!
It's just as if you looked and heard.
Now I know that what I saw
was a young rook, calling "Caw!"

    *     *     *

Robin fledgling, spotted chest,
Clinging to the garden wall.
Busy parents get no rest;
Finding food, they give their all.

    *     *     *

Mr Blackbird says 'hello
to Mrs Chaffinch. They both know
that when they spot an open curtain
flying seeds are pretty certain.

    *     *     *

Dear birds, you're fun to have you around,
so I'll keep spreading seed on the ground.

    *     *     *

Have a good weekend, blipmates!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.