The sound...

...of my own voice.

The top one is how it appears to me in colour. The bottom one is how it appears in black and white.

I can't actually hear my own voice, not as words. It just appears as a vibration to me in my chest (even with the processor on), and that is how I have learnt to modulate words. I think this is because I was taught to speak by vibrations when I was about 7 years old. I had to be taught each individual word, so I could learn to form them, as I couldn't hear them.

Do hearing people hear the actual words they themselves speak?

So my vocabulary didn't really increase an awful lot over the years. I spoke well with what I had because of the brilliant person who taught me to speak on a one to one basis. But at school I still drew homework in pictures when I was 13 years old, and no amount of punishment then could make me use the written word all the time. I was an avid reader of all kinds of books even if I didn't understand every word. I got the gist of what it was. I still prefer picture books and love current day graphic novels, and manga :)

About 30 years ago I went back to college and I needed one on one tuition. It was a hard slog and I hated it (because I hated and detested the school of my childhood), but I was determined to get a pile of qualifications which I did over a period of 15 years. I have built on those qualifications with my exploration of all kinds of stuff. And it has given me the written vocabulary I have today. And that adult college education has stood me in good stead.

So this is my pic for today for my pic every day in 2017.

Thank you for your kind stars and faves.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.