Miniature broccoli

This broccoli was self-sown in the greenhouse, hidden among the buckets that I grew tomatoes in. When I cleared the buckets I left it, amazed at the way it had spread its roots and penetrated the weed matting. Now it is ready to harvest, but the head is only 3 cms across. It will hardly count as one of the 5+ a day.

The fat I put out for the waxeyes the other day has not been picked at much. I suspected that the bully was able to protect the one good pecking site. I climbed up the ladder to place it in a better position. I no sooner had my head in the small tree when a pair of distressed waxeyes arrived. They fluttered about close to my head squeaking at me. Obviously they feared I’d take it away. I was supervised until it was tied in a place among a lot of twigs. They must have been one of the resident couples that know me. The bully and his gang fly away if I appear. Any way, the bully is having trouble chasing off the other birds now. He can dive bomb only one at a time.

Today was a beauty. Mostly sunny, with a light and mild nor’wester. The temperature at lunchtime was 17ºC! A great day for getting the washing dry and for working outdoors.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.