Fat For All

Now that the fat is in a different place 3 or 4 waxeyes can feed at a time. The bully hasn’t a chance of attacking them all at once. Yesterday I wrote, when I didn’t have a photo to illustrate-

The fat I put out for the waxeyes the other day has not been picked at much. I suspected that the bully was able to protect the one good pecking site. I climbed up the ladder to place it in a better position. I no sooner had my head in the small tree when a pair of distressed waxeyes arrived. They fluttered about close to my head squeaking at me. Obviously they feared I’d take it away. I was supervised until it was tied in a place among a lot of twigs. They must have been one of the resident couples that know me. The bully and his gang fly away if I appear. Any way, the bully is having trouble chasing off the other birds now. He can dive bomb only one at a time.

This afternoon we had a rapid change in the weather that knocked down the temperature by 11ºC in a short time. I watched the southerly racing toward me, first as huge white cumulus clouds, and then dark storm clouds. The extra shot shows a row of poplars just before the sunshine was snatched away.

The waxeye looks good full screen too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.