The handsome rooster?

Transport in Thailand seems to be run by minibus mafia companies. Every hotel, hostel and small travel agency sell tickets for buses that will pick you up from where you’re staying and transport you to various cities. They’ll never tell you what time public buses run from the bus station. I couldn’t find any information about a bus station on Koh Lanta so I booked the minibus.

It picked me up at 11.30am and stopped at numerous other hotels to pick up other people. The bus was packed with people and luggage. I hoped we’d be able to get out of the bus on the short ferry journey back to the mainland but there was a suitcase next to the door and I’d have to climb over three people and no one wanted to get out. The bus dropped some people at Krabi airport, some more at the bus station and then me in Krabi town before taking the last two on to a beach resort.

I had a late lunch at a friendly little cafe next door to my guesthouse (which I think is competing for the title of most unfriendly staff in Thailand) and went for a walk around the town. It’s next to a river with karst peaks visible in the distance so is quite pretty.

The handsome rooster is what my friends in Sri Lanka call the neighbour’s rooster who jumps over the wall to visit their chickens. This one is a temple rooster. He’s scrawnier and not as handsome. It’s not the best photo of the temple but I’ve chosen it for today because of the rooster. You’ll have to imagine me running around after the rooster trying to get both it and the temple in the shot!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.