Up Stitchwort

I went to Rye Meads this afternoon and photographed birds for 30 Days Wild. I got a shot of a kingfisher but it was quite distant. Lovely to see it though.

I photographed the beetle above this morning on a lesser stitchwort flower. It looks to me as though it could be a tawny longhorn beetle but I'm not sure as it is quite small. I'll have another trawl through the insects sites tomorrow and update this post if necessary.

PS I think this is more likely to be a male red-brown longhorn beetle. The name comes from the female which is bigger and reddish.

Today's poem is Calypso by WH Auden. https://allpoetry.com/poem/8492899-Calypso-by-W-H-Auden

Well it's one that I can easily understand. To me the rhythm is a bit off. Auden was gay but surely even gay men don't powder their noses? This poem doesn't do much for me but I listened to his Night Mail again this morning which is fantastic. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zmciuKsBOi0

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.