There Be Dragons

30 Days Wild alerted me to Open Farm Sunday. I had plans to visit Langford Museum of Power for the Japanese Auto Matsui. I Googled and found an open farm near Chelmsford that was on my way.

I explored the Chatham Green Project farm, which is an outdoor living classroom, on my own. They have a decked area over a pond. When I found it a male broad-bodied chaser dragonfly was guarding a female who was laying. Unfortunately I didn't get pics of her but I made friends with him. Dragonflies have a habit of returning to the same perch. I love the pruinescence on his abdomen. 

By the time I got to the Auto Matsui many of the cars had left. My favourites both won prizes.

Today's poem is To my Dear and Loving Husband by Anne Bradstreet. https://www.poets.org/poetsorg/poem/my-dear-and-loving-husband

AB was a Puritan, married at 16 after recovering from a near-fatal attack of smallpox. She and her husband sailed to America and raised eight children. Her view of marriage was as practical as it was romantic.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.