Our Queen's 90th Birthday Flypast

Another day, another airfield. I asked the air traffic guys at Stow Maries yesterday where they thought the best place would be to see and photograph the flypast in honour of the Queen's 90th birthday. They suggested Stapleford Flight Centre, which is not far from here and where my son did his early flight training.

I was warmly welcomed and sat at the ready on the terrace sipping a cold drink. A friendly couple joined me and we had a nice chat whilst waiting. The group of helicopters came into very distant view first from the north, a direction we weren't expecting. Someone explained that as they are slower that was the reason. Not long afterwards the rest came into view from the east. I got shots of the Spitfire and Hurricane but they looked like dots. My pic is of the massive C17 accompanied by a BAe 146. I've added the Red Arrows and the Sentinel, Airseeker and two Tornado G4s to extras. The aircraft were way in the distance but it was still thrilling to see them.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.