Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

My Best Friend

It shouldn't be any surprise (for those who know me) that my bestest friend in the world is my mom. She makes me laugh, she makes me cry and she has unconditionally supported and loved me throughout the years, especially during all of my mental and physical ups and downs.

Let me tell you about this scooter. She was bugging me for weeks about wanting to buy it. (It was an independence thing.) I didn't know how many wheels it had, whether it was driven on the road, how it was powered, etc. One evening we were talking on the phone-

Mom: I need you to drive me to Walgreen's tomorrow because I want to buy a scooter.
Me: Please promise me that you won't get a neighbor or friend drive you there to buy it.  I want to be with you when you do so I can check it out.
Mom:  *giggle* Okaaaay!

The following morning, bright and early, I got a spending alert on her debit card.  This prompted another call.

Me:  Mom, what did you do this morning?
Mom:  I bought a scooter!!!! (pause) How did you know I did anything?
Me:  The bank notified me.
Mom:  Oh....
Me:  So, what does it look like?
Mom:  It's red!

I gave up.  Gotta love my mom!  x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.