Lost in a Sea of Iris

Dear Diary,

This has been a spectacular year for my iris.  The garden is awash in shades of lavender.  The alliums are passing but the iris have rushed in to fill the blooming gap.  I just had to feature my meditation garden again, it looked so pretty.

That large plant in the upper right corner in the background is my Joe Pye Weed which looks like it might surpass itself this year.  I may get another one to take the place of an ornamental grass that failed to return this year.  It is an amazing plant that is so much more than the name implies.

My wonderful painter David was here yesterday to do some touch up on the white trim that suffered over the winter and we made a painful discovery.  Four porch posts are rotted at their base and some trim is also.  Sigh….more work for Greg and it might mean putting off the labyrinth for a while as this must be attended to first.

The really good news is the dragonflies returned yesterday and are hard at work in the back scooping up what was left of the black flies. I hope they grab some mosquitoes too!  The dragonflies are such a welcome sight every year.  Emerson and I will lay low today as the temperature is supposed to top off close to 90F again.  We will await the thunderstorms that are expected to roll in this afternoon which will bring cooler temperatures.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.