Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Second Instar

Back on May 21, I was fortunate enough to come across a Black Swallowtail butterfly laying eggs.  I pinched off a stem with an egg on it, carried back to my car, brought it home and waited.  On May 31, an impossibly tiny caterpillar emerged and the little guy/gal has been busy eating parsley since then.  It is now almost 1/2 inch (1.5 cm) long and in it's second instar phase.  When it molts again it should become a much more striking green caterpillar.  Stay tuned.

Not quite on topic for this week's Tiny Tuesday - Everyday object theme, although I'd argue that parsley is kind of an everyday herb for those of us who cook.  Okay, yea, that's a stretch.  Thanks so much for hosting, Isbi!

It's another miserably hot day - the poor birds are all out there with their beaks open, trying to regulate their temperature.  I haven't checked on the baby wrens, but at least their box is in partial shade.  Tomorrow should be a bit cooler so I'll check all the nest boxes then.

I went over to see MIL early - Tuesday's there is a hair stylist who comes in to do cuts, styles, etc.  MIL was due for a trim but we knew she wouldn't do it if one of us wasn't there to cajole her into it.  So, while we waited, we had a nice visit and by the time I left, she had a sassy new 'do.  

There is a tiny green Orchard Orb Weaver (spider) living in my butterfly garden.  I saved a damselfly that had gotten fouled in the spider's web this morning - I think the damsel was way too big for the orb weaver to eat, and she had plenty of other .little goodies in her web.  So the damsel lived to fly another day.

Be well, people.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.