Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Will you walk into my parlor...

“Will you walk into my parlor?” said the spider to the fly;
“’Tis the prettiest little parlor that ever you did spy.
The way into my parlor is up a winding stair,
And I have many pretty things to show when you are there.”
“O no, no,” said the little fly, “to ask me is in vain,
For who goes up your winding stair can ne’er come down again.”
-Mary Howitt


Timing was in my favor today.  I was on a little macro safari of the butterfly garden and thought I'd check on the little Orchard Orb Weaver who's built her web right above a patch of salvia.  As I was crouched there, a tiny fly flew straight into her parlor web and quicker than you could say EEK, the spider was on the fly!  She quickly subdued it and then wrapped it in silk and scuttled off with it.  No doubt to her pantry.  It was astonishing to me to see how fast the spider went after the fly - almost quicker than I could follow with my eye.  I think this is the first time I've witnessed the actual take-down.  


For those of you who don't like spiders, it may help to know that this orb weaver is very, very small.  She could easily sit on an American dime with plenty of room to spare.  They are very common spiders throughout the Eastern US, if you have the patience to look for them, and with their bright iridescent colors, very beautiful.  


Today in Nesting News...


Fledgling Chipping sparrows and White-breasted nuthatches, both very cute and both in horrid light for photos.  Patience will win the game.  Also a fleeting glimpse of both Downy and Red-bellied Woodpecker fledglings.


The wren pair who lost their brood a week ago to a bear have completed a nest at the edge of the woods and now have two egg.  That was fast work.  A second nest is half-completed.  Usually I'd clean it out, but I'll leave it since Mister has a Mistress who will soon be fledging her first brood.  If he can entice her to stay around, she'll raise a second brood.  


The bluebirds have started adding feathers to their nest, so expect eggs will be laid soon.


Chipmunks are running rampant all over the yard and patio.  Cuteness overload.

I managed to get MIL to walk double what we usually do today, so that was good.  And, as usual, we had some laughs.

Dinner tonight with friends - looking forward to that.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.