Blood-drop-emlets

Thank you for the wonderful response to yesterday's sunset sheep, yep more proof that there's always a golden moment in every day.

Aka Blotched Monkeyflower or Monkey Musk.
The Latin name was also, I thought, pretty straight forward, Mimulus luteus. But it transpires that it's now been reclassified and is in fact Erythranthe lutea. Hmphhh.

I think of it as a wildflower, and rather a stunning one at that, as that's how I most encounter it. It needs very wet ground and a lot of water, so it seems to thrive in localised patches here and can be found alongside a lot of streams and rivers. However as with many of these plants it was in fact introduced from the America's in the 1800's and is a garden escapee.

Not such a productive day today, a terrible night's sleep made me late to rise, and I spent a lot of time on hold trying to finalise an operation date. Still no wiser.
In other news I updated my website as a temporary measure, decided on a new hosting and design package to move over to WordPress and turned down a request to be the parliamentary candidate for the area. Unless the LibDems can improve their national policy and interaction, find a way to really offer people an alternative, then life is too short to fight totally lost causes. In my constituency the LibDems actually went backwards, whilst both Labour and Conservatives increased hugely, sadly they don't seem to realise or understand why.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.