Leiflife

By Leiflife

Going To The Ball...

In Cinderella's day, it would have been the ball. In my current day world, it is the Gala, a yearly fundraiser for the Walter Anderson Museum of Art. But this year, I was a little like Cinderella in that I had the perfect dress, and magic was in the air. Year after year I have pulled out one of about three possibilities, all worn numerous times before. Not this year... This year, I saw a bit of flowing blue cloth across a store, and walked without hesitation toward the dress I knew I would take home. Did I say blue? It was at least four shades of blue, and it felt like wearing the sky in all of its moods. And why not throw in a little of the clearest bluest sea? I floated down the driveway for Olivia to take a photograph. For some reason I like this back view she took, with my old paisley scarf enhancing the dress.

For the fourth year, my granddaughter, Olivia, was my date, my driver, my perfect companion to an event that is rather a challenge to my sensibilities. Loud music, etc... But with Livvy by my side, all things are possible. Cinderella (Leif) can go to the ball (Gala) and happily (laughingly) dance the night away. Can you believe Cinderella/Leif danced the swing dance with a handsome artist? And it was fun!

A few extras... Front view, Livvy and me, My brother, John, dancing with Livvy, Angel of the Gala (She was everywhere, sweet G!), Three Musketeers (Livvy and I enjoyed the company of lovely S), Livvy with a handsome partner toward the end of the evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.