En route

We were a bit later than we'd hoped in setting off. Several reasons -

1 - yesterday evening Mr C and I decided to take a quick walk in the woods behind our house. We found a new-looking track heading steeply up off our usual path - a deer track we though, as it got steeper and steeper. We started to find bits of litter and empty bottles which increased in number the higher we got till we found under a large rock two tents and a tarpaulin and masses of rubbish. This was totally hidden from the main carriagedrive which we soon reached. I tried to alert people to this camp as 2 years ago people camping at another place further on had started a fire which spread rapidly in the peaty soil and took days to get under control. Anyway this morning the local Councillor told me the managing agents for the owners and eventually I tracked down the phone number of the agent of the agent. Very time-consuming. I left a message about the situation as we were concerned about another fire

2 - the Edinburgh book festival programme came out and I had to liaise with daughters and a friend about what we wanted to see as I won't have enough access to wifi to get tickets when they come on-line.

3 - I had to buy my train tickets to Edinburgh while they were at a cheap price

Update on the illicit campers - a local chap employed by the agents to keep an eye on the woods phoned me to get directions to the location and then phoned later to say he had found it and thought nobody had been there for a while. He plans to take a look at weekends in an attempt to catch them there. So I feel I've done my best - though I had nothing with me to collect the rubbish and assume that is being left till he catches the culprits.

Tonight we are camped in Canterbury - a short drive to Dover for our 3.20 am boat. I know - a crazy time but by now you know Mr C - it is a very cheap time to sail even with a camper van!

Blip is Dartford Crossing

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.