Chatres

What a long day! 2 hours sleep in Canterbury last night - £15 to park in a bus park as the motor home places full. We got off the 1.45 hour ferry at 6 am French time and drove an hour then slept in an aire for an hour. A long drive to Chatres - only 200 miles but that incorporated taking the wrong road around Rouen then sorting ourselves out. I think I'm a good map reader but when the driver doesn't listen to Instructions then problems occur! We had a lunch stop and another 1 hr sleep. The van is only allowed 50mph but as we are not on motorways there's lots of traffic lights in villages etc which makes for a slow, albeit picturesque journey.

Thankfully both aircon and the fridge work - it is so lovely to be warm though.

We have reached our site in Chatres. It is €17 a night with showers and hook-up to electricity and our pitch is in a beautiful location in woods but there's a sunny bit as well - though the van is in shade I can sit in the sun. I think Mr C might be persuaded to stay another night so that we have more time to explore the city. We can walk the 2 miles along a river into the town - I seem to remember a book featuring the cathedral by was it Tracey Chevalier?

Here is Mr C with his well-earned G and T - yes I'm softening him up in preparation for the suggestion to stay here 2 nights, and, pushing my luck, another two near Blois on the Loire.

Sorry isinatcreel - can only get wifi on my phone so no quality - not up to Orkney standards!

Sent from my iPhone

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.