Ah, Glass Hopper!

It was the perfect morning to cycle to work today, so that's what I did.  It's such a lovely start to the day, with hardly anyone around - just other cyclists, dog walkers and the fishing boats out at sea.  I managed to cycle the 7 miles in about 45 minutes which included a stop to take a couple of photos.

At lunch time I walked down to the beach and managed to find some sand - there isn't normally much sand as it's a pebble beach, but for some reason, there are large patches where the pebbles have been washed further up the beach.  There were lots of people sunbathing, the life guards had set up their look out posts, and people were swimming in the sea, summer has definitely arrived!

This afternoon, I had a chicken pox vaccine as I've never had chicken pox, and after talking to my boss, he said it would be a good idea to have it.  I'll have another one in a months' time.

Then I had to cycle home but it wasn't as pleasurable as this mornings' ride as there was a head wind all the way home!  Luckily it was very still in our garden so we've spent the evening outside.  I'd bought kebabs and pork steak for the BBQ, so we cooked them and ate in the garden and then once the sun went down, we moved into the Palace.  This grass hopper was on our little table outside and was quite happily posing for me.  I like how his body is reflected in the glass top.

We're just watching the news on TV and my heart goes out to those poor people who lived in the block of flats that set fire in London.  I saw lots of posts of the fire on Facebook, but being at work I wasn't able to read them.  It's awful watching how quickly the fire spread and seeing that people were throwing themselves and their children out of the window, but I guess you would if there's now way out. It's very sad :-(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.