Donut in the Sky

This is the British Airways i360 - Brighton's new observation tower which is due to open this summer.

I've watched the tower being built but it's the first time that I've seen the pod. It's taken with my phone whilst sat at the traffic lights, so I'll have a wander down there one lunch time with my camera to see if I get can some better shots.

The tower is 162 metres high and will be the World's first vertical cable car. Visitors will enter the pod at ground level and once at the top of the tower there will be a 360 degree view for about 25 miles. Naturally I'll be going up it to blip the view once it opens.

The West Pier Trust own the site and apparently they're hopeful that if it's successful it'll lead to the rebuilding of the West Pier.

When I got home from work, Alan was busy working on the base of the summerhouse so I helped by painting the inside of the window. It's Georgian glass and I had to put masking tape around each of the small panes of glass, so it took quite a while to do but at least it's another job done. The inside of the door needs doing too, but hopefully we'll be ready to start building it this weekend - weather permitting!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.