Challenge

Something of the physicality of shinty can be seen in this picture taken about fifteen minutes from the end of this afternoon's Camanachd Cup Final at the Mossfield Stadium in Oban.

The challenge is between Robbie MacLeod, the No 8 for Kyles Athletic and Inveraray's No 6, David MacPherson. (who was an Olympic Torch bearer and is a committed fund raiser for cancer following his own brush with the disease). At that stage the two teams were drawing at 5 each after an exciting match which had swung both ways (at half time, Inveraray were ahead by 4 to 2). You can read a full moment by moment acount here.

6 to 5 for Kyles was the final score - the same as when Kyles won in 1980 against Newtonmore - and the cup is going back to Tighnabruaich for the first time since 1994.

PS: I had forgotten this was my 730th until people started commenting - so thanks and , like all blippers I think, the more I see and the more I do, the more I learn - whilst enjoying it!

Thanks to all those who drop by and to all those whose journals inspire, entertain and teach me .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.