Sylvia, Gloria and Anne

Gloria is the only one left.

Today was Anne's funeral. She was 100 years old and one of my Mum's two best friends.

The 3 were all talented muscians and met every Wednesday for piano, violin and singing followed by glasses of sherry. 

Anne's husband, Norman, is 98. He gave a very emotional Address. They had 5 babies that were all lost before birth and later adopted a baby boy, Jonathan, who died aged 44. Jonathan's son also spoke and there was not a dry eye in the church.

But what got me was Gloria. She is 82 years old and still has a fabulous voice. She and her daughter, Esther,  sang a duet; The Evening Prayer from Hansel and Gretel. She has sung so many duets with Mum. Why isn't my mum still alive and singing? 

Afterwards, Gloria tearfully told me how she always thinks of my Mum. That was it. I have been missing her enormously recently and began sobbing. My best friend is another of Gloria's daughters and she joined in. How ridiculous!

Norman always liked an excuse to give you a wet smacker on the lips but I managed to escape a direct hit today!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.