RetiredDBA

By RetiredDBA

First visit to the Kentmere valley

A dry day was forecast with some blustery winds so I opted for a long, lower level walk. Starting from Troutbeck I walked over the Garburn pass into the Kentmere valley. The blip is the view into the valley from just below the top of the pass. I dropped down into the tiny hamlet of Kentmere and then took a track first to Kentmere Hall and then past Kentmere Tarn. There is no access to the tarn as it is a private fishing lake which is a shame as from the glimpses I got through the trees the tarn looked lovely. Completed the 12 mile circular using a variety of tracks and small roads. 

The hedgerows are wonderfully colourful at the moments with huge numbers of wild flowers most of which I still need to learn the names of. In extras is a shot of a gate I was intrigued by as it didn't seem to lead anywhere.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.