Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

Bunster Hill from Thorpe Cloud

I walked up Thorpe Cloud this afternoon, twice, and then I crossed the road and walked up Bunster Hill.  But I didn't fancy coming down the path I'd gone up, it was very steep and loose, so I walked the ridge and went into the woods, intending to find my way to either a footpath shown on the map or to follow the path I was on to Ilam Lane. 

Well there were no paths where there should have been, and the one I was following - in spite of beginning with a proper gate complete with a sign showing a walker - petered out some way ahead, ending at a fenced-in corner.  So after trying to find a way down to the River Dove, as other folk obviously had, I decided to retrace my steps back to the gate and descend the hill to join the path, which was just as steep but grassy instead of scree.

It was a bit disappointing that I couldn't find the route but at least I found that I could walk up a steep hill without too much bother.  They're only little hummocks I know, but they're all I could get to!

The extra is Thorpe Cloud from Bunster Hill ;-)

3.89 miles
1661ft ascent

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.