If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

The city under the stone.

No guests in the Lodge, good weather an ideal opportunity to get the grass cut.  On one of the banks we have a replica Ammonite about 60cm (2 feet) across, a reminder of Clickychick's days running the Gem Den with is fossils, minerals and Jewellery.  I find it is easier to move this and mow over the area,  I don't have to try to trim round the edge of the ammonite that way.

Ever since we put it there (soon after we bought the Lodge) it has had an ants nest underneath.  I find if I move the stone a few minutes before I need to cut there is a lot of frantic movement and the eggs and pupae disappear under ground.  When I moved the ammonite today the nest was the largest I have seen (see extra).

At least one variety of UK ants doesn't bite, I forget the species, but these must belong to that species.  I have never been bitten in all the years I have lifted this "stone" and I have never seen an ant indoors at the Lodge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.