Link with Paolozzi

 
Elizabeth Ogilvie knew Eduardo Paolozzi, one of the towering figures of British art, whom I had the good fortune to do a Masterclass with many years ago.
 
 
So, visiting Elizabeth during Open Studios was a “must”.  She is sharing studio space outside Alloa. with three other artists- Sue Myles, Vicky Bryant and Ruth Couper.
 
Her work is colourful and abstract. She says: “ I never know what I am going to do when I pick up a paintbrush.”
 
 
It is said that if you know what you are going to do before you do it then you are doing somebody else’s work.
 
I told her Paolozzi’s influence still lives on with me.  A robot I made in his class I now use as part of an interactive installation using voice activated technology.
 
   
I showed her  a piece of work made this morning now on instagram.

   
She said Paolozzi would approve.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.