Flower Friday : : Roses

We have a new Pilates studio now so it seemed appropriate that we go to a new place for coffee.  City Garden Coffee just opened and, as it turns out, their specialty is doughnuts. It is attractive, light and inviting but the coffee was disappointing. Too late we noticed a list of specialty coffees on a chalkboard. I'm not so sure a chipotle/chocolate/coffee concoction will ever compete with Aztec mocha.

There were three of us today and Tobi and I bought a cup full of doughnut holes to share. She and I each had one and Bob, who is rigidly sticking to a paleo diet abstained. I took the rest home to OilMan. It is the story of my life that I exercise great restraint and willpower, and OilMan, who never gains an ounce, gets all the leftovers. 

With the thermometer pushing 100 degrees F, spending time in the garden was not appealing. It was tolerable in the shade so I spent some time trying to catch a spider in the middle of its web amongst the bamboo and ferns. The light was filtered and pleasant but not conducive to any kind of macro photography, and frustrated, I came inside.

I  discovered the bouquet of roses in the guest room, put there back when the roses were blooming and we had guests. Today, there were the dried roses, sans water in their little glass vase from Aviemore. I could play around with them indoors until most of the petals had fallen off and the vase was full of sticks. I like the colors so I saved what was left in my office along with my collection of feathers, shells, snakeskin, lichen and small bones....

We haven't had to turn on the new air conditioner yet, but it is only a matter of time before it is tested....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.