Bom

By Bom

Lakenheath Fen

Today G, M and I went to Lakenheath Fen RSPB reserve to meet my friends T and D. I've not been before and I thought it was a great place. We did the 3.5 mile walk around the reserve through reed beds and by woods, following a river and next to a railway line. It was unbelievably hot, muggy and sunny (28c at RAF Lakenheath) and I for one was wilting a bit!  I saw my first Bittern (see extra for a poor quality shot of it hiding in the reeds) and the others saw 5 during the walk - I saw 2 including one very close fly by as we walked down the river (I was too slow with the camera). We also saw several Marsh Harriers, a Sedge warbler and lots of other birds, in fact 35 bird species seen or heard according to M. We also saw a baby deer pop out of the scrub-land and on to the path and look a bit confused to see people ahead of it and behind it!!! It was a really lovely day and great to catch up - and I was glad to get home and have a shower to cool down!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.