atoll

By atoll

Saving Graces and Grass Wood

"May we be not like cornflakes: Crispy flakey and without substance; and more like porridge: wholesome, filling and warming" prayed our gentle host Beryl before we started our communal big breakfast at Bridge End Farm B&B this morning.

Felt a little nervous as Kempy has a shorted hot-wire in his head that means his thoughts are normally transferred instantly to spoken word unmoderated. He's a nightmare in company, but thankfully this time he behaved, and apart from his talk over breakfast on rats and sewerage, it all went off rather well.

Hosts Beryl and Robin actually did well only getting back from their wedding at 2:30 in the morning before starting the breakfast service. Kempy and I had already polished off our half bottle of Jameson's before they returned, so we were already 'firing zeds'.

The days fishing was a bit disrupted: as first the river was still pretty high and fast; secondly, Kempy's bad back had returned, meaning he was in great pain and wasn't fishing; and thirdly, before I started, I also tripped on the walk through the woods, and managed to dig a 'Klinkhåmer Special' fly hook beyond the barb into my finger. Fortunately, I normally flatten the barbs to make it easier to release fish unharmed, and also had a stout pair of pliers with me. A quick rip and it was out. No one can hear you scream out in the woods.

I had decided I would fish the Grass Wood stretch of the Wharfe below Kilnsey, off a £20 day ticket from the Grassington post office. Totally beautiful stretch, and as wonderful a river as anywhere in the world, but sadly without the competition of my little fishing nemesis, it wasn't the same. No fish caught all day, though I had a good one on briefly.

Kempy hung around gamely, and we finished with a pint in the posh Angel at Hetton (though we left soon after as Kempy said the staff were looking sniffingly at me in my shorts). Not a 'proper' pub any more anyway.

Managed to pop into mums on the way back, and whilst not expecting it, got my Tea served up as well.

Back to Knutsford then, and short birthday break nearly over :-(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.